Intern. Gerichtshof (ICJ)

In the election, six candidates were contesting five positions for nine year terms. Dalveer Bhandari of India Elected, as United Kingdom Withdraws Candidate

Under the terms of the Court’s statute, a candidate obtaining an absolute majority of votes in both organs is considered elected.  In the Council, eight votes constitute an absolute majority and no distinction is made between permanent and non permanent members of the organ.  By contrast, all 193 Member States in the General Assembly are electors.  Accordingly, for the election, 97 votes constitute an absolute majority in the Assembly.


The Court’s composition on 6 February 2018 will be as follows

(terms expire on 5 February of the year in parentheses)  Ronny Abraham (France) (2027); Dalveer Bhandari (India) (2027); Mohamed Bennouna (Morocco) (2024); Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil) (2027); James Richard Crawford (Australia) (2024); Joan E. Donoghue (United States) (2024); Giorgio Gaja (Italy) (2021); Kirill Gevorgian (Russian Federation) (2024); Xue Hanqin (China) (2021); Hisashi Owada (Japan) (2021); Julia Sebutinde (Uganda) (2021); Peter Tomka (Slovakia) (2021); and Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia) (2027).

Ein Aufsatz von Dr. Dieter Deiseroth, veröffentlicht im »MIRZ Discussion-Paper« Nr. 3

Der Beitrag als Download (PDF-Dokument)

Ein Jahr nach der Vorlage des IGH-Gutachtens zieht N.Paech nach einer völkerrechltichen Bewertung des Gutachtens 1997 eine erste Bilanz über die Rezeption in der Staatenwelt.

Paech, Nuklearwaffen... 


Durch das Abonnement des Newsletters akzeptiere ich die Nutzungsbedingungen.
Zum Seitenanfang